Posted by: texasaggie04 | January 30, 2008

Stonewall Jackson’s Book of Maxims: Quote of the Day

“You may be whatever you resolve to be”

Gen. Thomas Jonathan Jackson (personal journal, i.e. Book of Maxims)

This quote is immortalized in the marble of Stonewall Jackson Hall on the campus of Virginia Military Institute. There is no other famous quotation, in my opinion, that better summarizes the “American Dream” so briefly, yet so perfectly.

“It is painful enough to discover with what unconcern they speak of war and threaten it. I have seen enough of it to make me look upon it as the sum of all evils.”

Gen. Thomas Jonathan Jackson

My religious belief teaches me to feel as safe in battle as in bed. God has fixed the time for my death. I do not concern myself with that, but to always be ready, no matter when it may overtake me.

Gen. Thomas Jonathan Jackson

Responses

  1. May God give us more men like ” Stonewall Jackson”


Leave a Reply

Categories

